News & Events‎ > ‎

Mayo Gaels : 2013 Annual General Meetings….

posted 26 Feb 2014, 03:22 by Mayo Gaels

A large crowd attended the 2013 Mayo Gaels Annual General Meeting which was held in the Clubhouse on Sunday the 26th of January (the senior AGM was preceded by the Bord Na nOg AGM).

Outgoing Chairman John Gallagher welcomed the large attendance said that it was very encouraging to see the increased numbers now turning up for recent Annual General Meeting’s.

Club Secretary Maureen Burke opened proceedings by reading the 2012 AGM Minutes and the Secretaries Annual report. In her report Maureen praised team managers and players, both senior and underage, for their commitment and hard work in 2013. Maureen also thanked Club members for the co-operation and patience shown to the Committee particularly when All-Ireland tickets were distributed to members in September.

Club Treasured Derek Vahey presented the 2013 Accounts. Derek stated that the Club Accounts were in good order however it was important that the Club continue to manage the finances in a prudent and careful manner. Derek thanked lotto sellers and teams and said that it was heartening to see the number of people in the local and wider area who played the Mayo Gaels lotto on a weekly basis. Mayo Gaels organised several fundraising events in 2013 and Derek stated that the Club Committee were very thankful for the great support received for these ventures.


The Chairman opened his address by thanking outgoing Bord Na nOg Chairman, Paul Murtagh for the work, dedication and energy he had given to the club over the past three years. The Chairman stated that the club were very fortunate to have a progressive and energetic Bord Na nOg Division and he extended his best wishes and support to incoming Bord Na nOg Chairman, Noel Commons.

The Chairman thanked the senior players and outgoing senior team management for consolidated Intermediate Championship and Division 3 League status in 2013. The Chairman stated that the Club owed a great debt of gratitude to Stephen Murphy, Derek Vahey, Dermot Browne & John Byrne for the huge effort that they had put into managing the senior team over the past three years. The Club had recently selected Swinford man, Brian Gallagher, as senior manager for the 2014 season. The Chairman congratulated Brian on his appointment and hoped that 2014 would be a successful season for the senior team.

The Chairman added that Mayo Gaels should continually works hard to promote a love of athleticism and Gaelic Games throughout the Community. Mayo Gaels is a vibrant, energetic and ambitious club and the Chairman urged members to fully support future initiatives and ventures.

John stated that it was a privilege to have served as Chairman and he thanked everyone who had supported him in the past three years.


Stephen Murphy was proposed and seconded as the new Chairman. John Gallagher congratulated Stephen on his new role and stepped down from his position.

Stephen stated that he was delighted to take up the position of Chairman. Stephen added and that there were very capable people involved in all levels in the club and he was very confident that, with everyone working together, Mayo Gaels could face the future with optimism.

The meeting proceeded to the ‘Election Of Officers’ nominations. Maureen Burke was proposed and seconded as Club Secretary for 2014; Derek Vahey was also retained as Club Treasurer.

During the ‘Any Other Business’ discussions, Alan Prendergast reminded members that a benefit function for Baby Ella Connolly (Ballyglass) will be held in the Welcome Inn Hotel, Castlebar on Easter Sunday night (April 20th) at 8.00pm. Ella is in need of lifelong care anyone looking for tickets for this worthy event can contact Alan at 087 927 3200.

Secretary Maureen Burke extended a vote of sympathy to families (both living in the parish and those who had links to the club), who suffered bereavement in 2013.

The meeting concluded.