News & Events‎ > ‎

Mayo Gaels 1:09 Louisburgh 4:10 – Gaels loose first league game…

posted 25 Apr 2013, 04:55 by Mayo Gaels

A sharp and well organised Louisburgh team  impressively disposed of the Gaels in the first round of the Division 1C league played in Abbey Park today (Sunday 31st March). A cross field gale force wind and wet underfoot conditions hindered the game as a spectacle however Louisburgh’s ability to create and take goal chances was the key difference between the two teams.

Playing with the wind in the first half Gaels opened the scoring in the second minute with an Adam Gallagher point from play. However in the next twenty minutes a strong Louisburgh midfield performance coupled with several poor handling errors by the Gaels saw Louisburgh score an unanswered 1:03 – indeed Gaels plight could have been worse had goalie Paul Mannion not pulled off  a great save from a penalty in the fifteenth minute. Gaels responded strongly and an Alan Morris goal and points from play from Danny Burke and Shane Lyons levelled the game on the twenty-fifth minutes. Gaels good work was undone by the concession of a soft goal (resulting from a outfield turnover) in the twenty-eight minute however two quick points from Mally Byrne (both from play) and Niall Brett (45) saw the teams level at the interval on a score line of 1:06 to 2:03.

Despite Adam Gallagher (free) cancelling out an early second half Louisburgh point, Louisburgh took  a firm grip at midfield and using the wind to their advantage scored 1:03 without reply before Neil McGurren responded with a point from play mid way through the half. Gaels bravely battled out the rest of the half however their only contribution to the scoreboard was fine individual effort from play by defender Martin Connor.

Gaels will be hoping from an improvement in fortunes for their next league game against The Neale (away) on April the 20th or 21st.

Mayo Gaels : P. Mannion, A. Byrne, A. Heneghan, K. Lynch, M.Connor (0-01), N. Brett (0-01,45), S. Vahey, P. Walsh, J. Fallon, D. Burke (0-01), A. Gallagher (0-02(1f)), M. Byrne(0-02), A. Morris(1-00), N. McGurrin(0-01), S. Lyons(0-01); Subs J. Morrin for P. Walsh; F. Canavan for J.Fallon.