News & Events‎ > ‎

15th August - Mayo Gaels 2:12 Ballinrobe 4:16 : U14’s lose South-Mayo U14 B final….

posted 20 Aug 2013, 07:23 by Mayo Gaels

Mayo Gaels were defeated by a strong Ballinrobe side in the South Mayo U14 B Championship Final played in Hollymount, in front of a large attendance, on Thursday the 15th of August.

Having eased passed The Neale and Shrule-GlenCorrib in earlier rounds the Gaels found Ballinrobe a serious step up in quality and throughout the game the lads struggled to impose their game on proceedings – this was particularly noticeable in the first half where early Ballinrobe dominance in mid-field yielded important scores that were ultimately the difference between the sides at the final whistle.

Mayo Gaels found themselves 2.04 to 0.01 down after the first quarter however a number of switches principally the moving of Eoin Duggan to the full-back line saw the Gaels fight back to record a half-time score of 2.07 to 0.06.

The Gaels started the second half brightly however, in a repeat of the first half, several successful Ballinrobe counter attacks resulted in goals and by the end of the third quarter the score stood at Ballinrobe 4.12 the Gaels 0.06. The Gaels - finally using their pace - responded strongly and in a fast and furious final quarter out-scored their tiring opponents by 2.06 to 0.04.

The Gaels had strong performances on the day from John Gallagher, Ronan Commons, Luke Gallagher, James Jennings, Conor Jordan and Eoin Duggan.

This was the Gaels last U14 game in what has been a great 2013 for the U14 panel. The lads were only defeated in two of their fifteen games and it is reassuring that all but five members of the panel are eligible to play U14 again in 2014.

Mayo Gaels: D. McGurrin, L. Gallagher (0.01), S. Keane, A. Commons, C. Jordan, J. Jennings (1.00), J.Gallagher (1:07), C. Heneghan (Capt.), P. Morris, P. Murphy, S. Joyce (0.01),  E. Duggan, R. Commons (0.02); Subs Used : R. Keane (0.01), N. McGurrin, M. Durkan.