News & Events‎ > ‎

[10/05/14] Mayo Gaels 0:18 The Neale 1:07 - Gaels win first points of 2014 Division 1C League….

posted 16 May 2014, 02:11 by Mayo Gaels

Mayo Gaels secured a valuable two points when they defeated The Neale in the first round of the 2014 Division 1C League played in front of a large crowd in a wet and windy Abbey Park on Saturday the 10th of May.

Mayo Gaels were quick off the mark and points from play from Adam Gallagher, Fintan Canavan and Alan Morris saw the Gaels establish a three point lead by the fifth minute. The Neale, recovering from a slow start, upped their work rate and a well crafted passing move saw the visitors run through the Gaels defense to score a good goal on the tenth minute. The Corribsiders followed up with a point from play to move into the lead (1.01 to 0:03) mid way through the first half. Mayo Gaels responded impressively and, in a fast paced second quarter, well worked scores from Adam Gallagher, Malley Byrne and Danny Burke saw the Gaels outscore their opponents by seven points to three to leave the half-time score : Mayo Gaels 0:10, The Neale 1:04.

Mayo Gaels, while in control of play after the break, were slow to translate possession into scores and it was The Neale who scored the first two points of the half to leave the minimum between the teams at the end of the third quarter. The Gaels however, inspired by excellent play from Niall Brett, Fintan Canavan and Alan Morris, stormed into the game and to the delight of the large local support, scored an impressive eight points in the final twelve minutes to run out worthy winners on a score line of: Mayo Gaels 0:18, The Neale 1:07.

Mayo Gaels played some excellent football on the day and had strong performances from Sean Boyle, Paul Walsh, Kevin Jordan, Malley Byrne, Niall Brett, Fintan Canavan, Alan Morris and Adam Gallagher.

The senior’s play Louisburgh in the second round of the League in Louisburgh next Saturday evening, the 17th of May, at 6.00pm.

Mayo Gaels: P. Mannion, T. Byrne, A. Brett, K. Jordan, K. Lynch, F. Canavan (0.03), B. Heneghan, S. Boyle (0.01), P. Walsh, A. Morris (0.03), A. Gallagher (0.03), N. Brett (0.03, 1 45), M. Byrne (0.03, 1f), J. Griffin, D. Burke (0.02); Subs : G. Canavan, N. McGurrin, J. Morrin, J. Sloyne, L. Duggan, J Walsh, T. Keane